The Bookseller Of Kabul -Asne Seierstad

After absolutely falling in love with the setting and plot lines of both ‘The Kite Runner’ and ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’ written by Khaled Hosseini, as you can imagine, I was thrilled to come across this book in the library. I was so excited to read it as I felt it would give me more insight into the lives of Afgan people and how they differ so much from us in the UK. However, after about quarter of the way through, I had to give up reading it and didn’t make it to the end, it was so disappointing! I haven’t ever wrote a particularly negative review on a book and so I’m quite hesitant to post this one but I decided to go for it anyway! The author of this book Asne Seierstad actually travelled and lived with a family in Kabul for a while, this book revolves around the true story of Shah Muhammad Rais and his family. Whilst I was highly expecting good things from this book, it really let me down. The way it was written was in the style of ‘and this happened, and then this happened, and then this happened’… Nothing was properly explained and it skipped over a lot of important events which I feel he could have explored in much more detail. The characters also were not explained in enough depth and I kept having to skip back to the start to work out which character was which. However, I will praise Seierstad’s use of the true story of Kaha Rais, it did make it much more real, to realise that these are really people rather than fictional characters. Overall, I felt very disappointed in this novel, and it actually hurt slightly because I was really expecting it to be such a good read! Like they say, never judge a book by it’s cover.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

